Quinoa with Veggies and Za’atar

Za’atar is a gorgeous condiment that is liberally used in Middle Eastern cuisine. It is made with mixed dried herbs and sesame seeds. I just love Za’atar and use it with all kinds of food. My friend Rula spoils me silly by giving me the best Za’atar ever that she gets from Jordan.

Recently, I tried flavoring Quinoa with Za’atar and loved the earthy mix of the two ingredients. Here is the recipe I used.

 

 

Quinoa with Veggies and Za’atar

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: about 2/3 cup)

Ingredients:

1 cup water

1/2 cup uncooked quinoa

1/2 cup thinly sliced celery

1/2 cup thinly sliced green onions

1/2 cup finely chopped mushrooms

1 zucchini chopped into thin pieces

1 cup Napa cabbage sliced really thin

2 tbs za’atar

3 tbs olive oil

3 tbs white vinegar


Method

• Bring water and quinoa to a boil in a medium saucepan.

• Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes or until liquid is absorbed.

• Spoon into a bowl; fluff with a fork.

• Set aside.

• In a wok, heat 1 tbs. of oil.

• Add sliced green onions and celery and stir for a minute.

• Add the copped zucchini and mushrooms and stir for another minute till the mushrooms soften.

• Add Napa cabbage until it just wilts (less than a minute).

• Remove from fire and add to the cooked quinoa.

• Mix in the olive oil and vinegar to the quinoa mixture and combine well.

• Top off Za’atar with and toss well.

• Serve immediately.

 





4 thoughts on “Quinoa with Veggies and Za’atar

  1. Hi 🙂
    This is totally of the topic of this post. I found your old post about the Strawberry Shortcake party you had. I’m planning one for my little girl who is turning 1 – would you still have that eggplant dip recipe by any chance? And also, what is that next to the dip for dipping – is it something Indian?
    Did you prepare any of the food the day before? I’m just wondering how I’m going to handle it with a 1 year old and a 4 year old 🙂

    Thanks so much if you can find the time to reply.

    Bavani

      • Thanks 🙂 – the recipe seems so do-able!
        The party is 2 weeks away and I feel like I just can’t stop planning! I always want to make everything myself (even though my hubby tells me to go easy with the crazy and buy some things) – it’s a personal thing i guess 🙂

        I just found your blog and have been looking through it – you INSPIRE me! I checked out your other blogs too. I love it!

        • Thank you so much!
          Believe me I know what you mean but sometimes its okay to let go a little bit.
          Do what you can and the rest just buy things and make it look cute.
          Its hard when you have young ones but Im sure you will do a great job!
          Let me know
          hugs
          malini

Leave a Reply

