QUINOA AND PARSLEY SALAD

Quinoa is my new best friend!

This delicious grain is actually a seed that has been cultivated in South America for over 6000 years.

It is very high is protein and many other nutrients. It is a great replacement for rice and other high carbohydrate grains.

Here is a great recipe I tried from the December 2010 issue of Cooking Light Magazine.

I served it on our Thanksgiving table this year and it was a huge hit.












QUINOA AND PARSLEY SALAD

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: about 2/3 cup)

Ingredients

1 cup water

1/2 cup uncooked quinoa

3/4-cup fresh parsley leaves

1/2 cup thinly sliced celery

1/2 cup thinly sliced green onions

1/2 cup finely chopped dried apricots (optional – I didn’t use them)

3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon honey

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 cup unsalted pumpkinseed kernels, toasted


METHOD

  • Bring water and quinoa to a boil in a medium saucepan.
  • Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes or until liquid is absorbed.
  • Spoon into a bowl; fluff with a fork.
  • Add parsley, celery, onions, and apricots.
  • Whisk lemon juice, olive oil, honey, salt, and black pepper.
  • Add to quinoa mixture, and toss well.
  • Top with seeds.






7 thoughts on “QUINOA AND PARSLEY SALAD

  1. Hi Malini. I have a huge box of quinoa sitting on my kitchen shelf that I haven’t used since my first attempt at cooking it. The quinoa had a wierd after taste. It was also crunchy and felt like I was popping little bugs in my teeth. Any tips?

    • Samantha
      Maybe you undercooked it? Try this recipe out. I find that the quinoa comes out perfectly – its fluffy and doesn’t really have distinctive taste. Its a little like couscous.
      Let me know.

      • Thanks Sood. Quinoa came out great. Maybe you can help me out with another issue. I love green papaya salad, but it takes me an hour to julienne it. I’ve tried the food processor, but the strips dont come out the way they present at restaurants. Help me food fairy.

  2. I tried this last night. A lot of flavor. It reminds me of a recipe that I use to do with white beans. I used quinoa bought when I was in Peru (it was a main staple of the Incas). Peruvians use quinoa in soup – but I have not found a good recipe.

    • Great Susan. Im planning to try a few Indian twists on Quinoa too. I think it would taste great layered with a chicken curry. Will keep you posted.
      How did the salad turn out last night?

  3. Pingback: Baked Kale Chips « The Food Fairy

Leave a Reply

