Watermelon Radish and Rutabaga Tsukemono ( Japanese Pickled Vegetables)

In my weekly organic box of vegetables that I get from my local CSA, I never know what to do with my difficult vegetables ( ie:  the rutabaga, the watermelon radish, celery root, turnips and so on).

So, luckily I can hand them off to my wonderful mother in law Atsuko, who makes them into various kinds of Tsukemono for me which I love!

Tsukemono are Japanese Pickles which are so healthy and delicious. They can be eaten with rice or meat or anything really  or even just by themsleves. There are hundreds of ways to make Tsukemono with all kinds of vegetables. The most common ones are made using daikon radish, carrots, turnips and so on.

Here is one of the simplest ways my mother-in-law makes Tsukemono.

RUTABAGA AND WATERMELON RADISH TSUKEMONO

Ingredients:

Thinly sliced Rutabaga

Thinly sliced Watermelon Radish

Salt to sprinkle

2-3 tablespoons of seasoned rice vinegar, used for sushi rice ( any brand of your choice)

METHOD:

  • Sprinkle salt over the thinely sliced vegetables and allow it to sit in a colander for 10 minutes.

  • Squeeze any excess mositure out of the vegetables and place in a bowl.
  • Mix with 1-2 tablespoons of seasoned rice vinegar.
  • Serve.


Leave a Reply

