Shrimp Curry with Coconut Milk

I have a little fan following here in New York for this dish. This is really my go to dish when I have large numbers of people coming over. It always seems to be a crowd pleaser. So here you go Rula, Susan Hillberg, Sonu Swamy (my faithful food fans and blogophiles)……and all the rest of you!

For the base of this curry recipe please refer to the following link: https://thefoodfairy.wordpress.com/2009/03/14/a-base-recipe-for-curry/
 
 

Shrimp Curry


 

Shrimp Curry with Coconut Milk

Serves 6-8

Ingredients:

21-25 Deshelled shrimp (I use the raw frozen shrimp from costco – thawed)

2 cups of base curry mixture (recipe link: https://thefoodfairy.wordpress.com/2009/03/14/a-base-recipe-for-curry/ )

Kale or spinach finely chopped (optional)

1 can of coconut milk

1 can of tomato paste

1 cup chopped cilantro leaves

Salt & pepper to taste
 
METHOD:

  • Heat the base curry mixture.
  • Add in the tomato paste and cook for 5 minutes.
  • Add the chopped kale or spinach and cover and cook for 10 minutes.
  • Add 1 can of coconut milk and mix it well with the curry. 
  • Cook for 5-7 minutes.
  • Add in the raw shrimp and mix it well and cook till the shrimp is just cooked ( do not overcook the shrimp)
  • Add cilantro, salt and pepper and serve hot with basmati rice.
 

Base for curry

Shrimp Curry

9 thoughts on “Shrimp Curry with Coconut Milk

  1. Oh, I am so excited to have the recipe! I cant wait for the day I will have the time to make it. This dish is delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Malini missed one key ingredient.When she serves this curry on steaming white rice she adds so much of warmth and hospitality.I think that makes it special.Thanks Malini-I will try the recipe.

  3. Hi Malini,

    Im planning to try this tomorrow, just had a few questions. How many cups of the curry base would be made out of the recipie you’ve provided in the link and secondly in the curry base recipie you say to grind the ingredients how do I do that? Sould I put them in a food processor?

    Also I tried the banana strawberry bread, it turned out really well! All your recipies are turning out just brilliantly, thank you so much for sharing them!

    • Hi Z,
      Thank you. The recipe for the curry base is enough to make one batch of this shrimp curry. Just remember when cooking the base – make sure you really let it cook well for at least 1/2 hr till all the onions and tomatoes etc have mixed very well together with spices.
      I just quadruple the base recipe and keep it in my fridge so I can make curry anytime.
      Also with the coconut milk – I like the thai brands – they are thicker and give the curry more body but you can use anything you have available.
      You can grind in a food processor or you can even use an immersion blender if you have one.
      Good luck and thank you for all your support!

Leave a Reply

